Posted by: admin | June 16, 2009

Hello world!

Hey there! Receive greetings from the 300 year old cottage in Donoughmore, Co. Cork, Ireland.

Have been very busy getting OMAR’S RIVER BIRD ready for this year’s attempt to establish more benchmark world class adventure challenge and endurance records. You can read about those set in the past 2 years on this site. This year the challenge is to be the first live aboard boat to transit the Erne waterway WITHOUT AN ENGINE.

To my knowledge it has never been attempted previously and if the 1 ton + boat makes the transit under oar, pole,  and sail power new world records will be established as  they were in 2008 & 2009.

All this effort by a senior citizen is to focus attention on one of the most amazing people on the planet. He is a little boy with the potential to help make the world a better place for all of us. He is featured on the Nationwide segment which can be accessed through a link on this site.

Thanks for visiting, Don (aka Donnacha) Attig


Responses

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. God bless you Don,

    May the wind always be at yer back!

    …. thanks for doing this again for Tony this year – take it easy, have a good time, be careful and remember we love you very much!

    loadsaluv Maureen & Tony

    Chennai June 18 2009

  3. Hello Donnacha,

    The World is here to say “Hello” right back attchya, Donnacha. I finally catch up with you after all these years, and it looks like the timing has you on the water early in the Lough Erne Challenge 2009.

    Here’s wishing you the best of success in this years challenge. The river trip that you and I were take together all those many years ago that didn’t pan out, well, I’m with you in spirit on this one.

    foundyouatlast, Paul Miller

    • Hey there, glad you found me. Which Paul Miller are you??? I’ve know several over the years. I’m guessing you are the one from Fla. that came to see me in Illinois? God bless you which ever one you are!

  4. Hi there Donnacha my name is Heather and I had the plesure of meeting you while you were moored in Enniskillen.I have thought about you often as our weather becomes more unclimate.Ipray that God will keep you safe and give you all the strenght and endurance you need to complete your trip safely.The little boy is truely and inspiration to all who read about him he would put us able bodied people to shame.God Bless you on your journey . Heather from Coleraine.

    • Friend Heather, Thank you for your kind thoughts and prayers. God bless!

  5. Don,

    I’m the Paul Miller that you met while I was working at John Holms Small Craft Desgin while you were living/working on the trimaran Valkyrie. I’m also the same Paul Miller that spent time with you up in Illinois while you were constructing (the then Prince of Monohan) the New Jeruselum. Check your hotmail email account. More details there.

    Best regards
    Paul

  6. Hey Paul ! You are the Paul Miller I guessed numero uno. I checked my Email account, which is :
    dadattig@hotmail.com

    and had nothing from you. Please resend. Thanks and God bless!


Leave a comment

Categories